2008: Sacha Baron Cohen’s gay fashionista crashes rally against same-sex marriage / CBC News

I was in attendance at the amazing “Yes on Proposition 8” gathering at the Los Angeles City Hall grounds. Thousands upon thousands of faithful Christian families among our Korean, Chinese, Hispanic, Filipino, and other ethnic groups who are part of the rapidly-growing coalition that now has enough numbers to change laws and pass constitutional amendments, when required. Those nice but more secular Californians whose idea of where the line between appropriate and inappropriate behavior should be drawn are going to find themselves moving gently in the direction of a deeply religious, patriotic, and family-oriented society.
The passage of Proposition 8 tomorrow will keep California in synch with the attitudes of all the other states, where the only places where gay marrriage has been implented thus far has been by the rulings of tiny groups of judges intent on overriding the will of the people. My guess is that enough momentum has been gathered to proceed fairly rapidly with a marriage amendment in the U.S. Constitution, and federal or state legislatures standing in the way will be replaced.

I was interviewed by two local news organizations covering the event, which was very enjoyable. I was also one of the people whom Sacha Baron Cohen interviewed before he was discovered for who he is, and rushed out of the event.

Sacha saw me conducting coherent interviews with some other news agencies and probably felt certain that I spoke English well enough to actually be part of an interview. So he invited me to move over to an area away from the noise of the praise and worship band. He explained that they were with a news organization in Germany, and asked if I spoke German, to which I replied that I spoke French and my wife spoke German. So he conducted the interview in his supposedly broken English.
He began by asking several questions which seemed to be vaguely related to the event and the need for and possible success of Proposition 8, so I answered with what should have been coherent answers. But the questions had a very strange air; for example, when I mentioned the “slippery slope” of gay marriage leading to worse social ills such as polygamy or legalized prostitution, he kept babbling on for 3 minutes about the slippery snow-covered mountains in Germany. He and his crew did not react when I emphasized that, for most people in our movement, NOT BECOMING LIKE EUROPE is one of our highest and most effective motivators.

He then moved closer to me, like he wanted me to confide with him, and asked me about five times if what we really wanted to do with gays and lesbians was to do something unkind, or painful, or life-threatening, with each one getting worse than the previous. He also included in what we might want to do them numerous actions described with words fortunately unfamiliar to me but which evidently have reference to gay’s unusual (to put it mildly). sexual practices. My repeated response was that there was no such ill will on our side; that this was a political issue, and we would never do anything dangerous or unkind.

He then started asking what I thought when my boyfriend does something, at which point I realized that it was either a joke or someone out to do our cause harm, so I replied that I don’t have a boyfriend, and that the interview was over.

I enjoy good movies. But I confess that when “Borat” appeared I concluded that the movie had insufficient redeeming qualities to entice me to watch. It was helped by a somewhat standard LDS practice of never seeing “R” rated movies; the only one I have watched is “The Passion of the Christ.” I wouldn’t have had any reason to recognize this clever, likeable, actually very talented comedian (my children tell me that he is very funny but so outrageously-irreverent as to put off a lot of people). I’m glad I got to be in on his prank, and would enjoy it very much if I end up in his next movie, “Bruno. “. I enjoyed talking with him; he is a very bright person, and I’d like to talk with him as a practicing gay about his take on what I see as the dangers that gay marriage would cause to our culture.

I have studied the philosophy and history of cultures to a great extent,. I am convinced that one of the most important things that real high culture – like we had until the secular post-modernist thinkers did their work of destruction during the past generation – teaches us is (1) how and at what to laugh; (2) how and at what to cry; and (3) how and at what to be in awe. Part of this mix is that we don’t laugh at what is sacred to others. Sacha Baron Cohen, supposedly playing a person of fashion and culture in his next movie, seems to me to to be depicting there a real lack of culture. He laughs, cries, and is in awe at the wrong things. Hopefully it is just an act; otherwise, when he really needs to laugh (like when Proposition 8 passes) and to cry (like when he is an lonely old man because he has no wife and children to comfort him), or to be reverent (like when he meets our Loving … but O So Just Heavenly Father, whom Sasha will struggle to recognize because he’s never been a father), he will wish he had practiced more.

See the original on the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation website at this link.

Thanks much,

Steve St.Clair
============
Sacha Baron Cohen’s gay fashionista crashes rally against same-sex marriage
Last Updated: Monday, November 3, 2008 12:17 PM ET

CBC News

(Description of photo: Actor Sacha Baron Cohen holds up a sign during a Yes on Proposition 8 rally Sunday in Los Angeles. (Mark J. Terrill/Associated Press)
British actor Sacha Baron Cohen has returned to gate-crashing in the U.S., this time bringing his flamboyant gay fashion reporter character Bruno to a California rally calling for a ban on same-sex marriage.

Cohen, disguised as Bruno, joined marching demonstrators outside Los Angeles City Hall on Sunday and mingled with the crowd. The march was in support of Proposition 8, which seeks to overturn a state Supreme Court ruling that allows gay and lesbians to wed.

Photographers and reporters covering the rally eventually recognized Cohen, the star of the blockbuster faux documentary film Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan. Though they tried to approach the star, members of his film crew attempted to shield him. He was later ushered away in a van.

Cohen has been filming a new mockumentary film starring Bruno, who along with Borat was first introduced in his cable comedy program Da Ali G Show.

In the past few months, the British star has crashed several fashion show catwalks in France and in Italy, dressed as Bruno. In Milan, his stunt briefly landed him in police detention, before a colleague could vouch for him.

Cohen rose to fame for conducting interviews — while disguised as one of his over-the-top characters — with unsuspecting regular people and celebrities. His alter egos typically offered up offensive comments or questions that either left the subjects squirming or provoked them to make surprising statements of their own.

In December, the Los Angeles-based Cohen told a U.K. newspaper that he was retiring Ali G (the dim-witted hip-hop interviewer) and Borat (the uncouth reporter from Kazakhstan) because they have become too well-known and he was increasingly unable to dupe new interviewees.

2 Comments

Filed under Christianiy Global South, Proposition 8, Western Civilization

2 responses to “2008: Sacha Baron Cohen’s gay fashionista crashes rally against same-sex marriage / CBC News

  1. Just wanted to let you know that I love you Daddus and am grateful to have gained you as a dad when I married Mike. I appreciate all your efforts to take a stand for what you believe and your hard work with interFaith.

  2. We are so proud of you Daddus! We know that you represent the church very well!

Leave a Reply

